corn dolly and thistledown

Standard

For my small Lammas altar, I made a small corn dolly. I remember making these as a child. Next year I’ll start showing the littles on how to make them.

IMG_20150731_195606

Not much progress on the hex sign yet, but it’s in the plans! And more photo spam of the finished corn dolly. I like simplicity. I admire the fancier corn dollies with the hair and paint, plain is best for me.

IMG_20150731_200034

Crafting aside…

…I don’t know why the fae scare me or cause me to bring my guard up. I’ve never been one to be enchanted by the idea of faeries. Maybe it’s a past life issue. I get weary when I read or hear about them, run fast from folklore spots like Fae circles and toadstools…

But yesterday, I was gazing over towards the edge of the forest. No real train of thought, just enjoying the sunshine and nature’s beauty. Admiring a thistlebush, it’s bright purple and green hues. Suddenly, one of the thistle seed pods burst. It was honestly breathtaking to see. Hundreds of tiny thistledown seeds flew out and caught the breeze, and floated off in their merry way. And I thought to myself ‘if I ever needed a visual to what I would think faeries would be like in nature, the thistledown is it’. The careless way the white fluff dances off in the wind, sometimes 2 or 3 bunch together, others flying lower and catching in the grass…

IMG_20150801_105639

Quite an odd thought for someone who is weary of them. I was not weary in that moment. I was in awe. Still am. Magick is everywhere in nature. If you sit still for awhile and just observe…you will be amazed.

Leave a Reply

